A Woven Silence

Inspired by the story of her relative Marion Stokes, one of three women who raised the tricolour over Enniscorthy in Easter Week 1916, Felicity Hayes-McCoy explores the consequences for all of us when memories are manipulated or obliterated ...

A Woven Silence

How do we know that what we remember is the truth? Inspired by the story of her relative Marion Stokes, one of three women who raised the tricolour over Enniscorthy in Easter Week 1916, Felicity Hayes-McCoy explores the consequences for all of us when memories are manipulated or obliterated, intentionally or by chance. In the power struggle after the Easter Rising, involving, among others, Michael Collins and Eamon de Valera, the ideals for which Marion and her companions fought were eroded, resulting in an Ireland marked by chauvinism, isolationism and secrecy. By mapping her own family stories onto the history of the State, Felicity examines how Irish life today has been affected by the censorship and mixed messages of the past. Absorbing, entertaining and touching, her story moves from Washerwoman’s Hill in Dublin to London and back again, spans two world wars, a revolution, a civil war and the development of a republic, and culminates in Ireland’s 2015 same-sex marriage referendum. • Also by this author: Enough is Plenty

More Books:

A Woven Silence
Language: en
Pages: 252
Authors: Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-01 - Publisher: Gill & Macmillan Ltd

How do we know that what we remember is the truth? Inspired by the story of her relative Marion Stokes, one of three women who raised the tricolour over Enniscorthy in Easter Week 1916, Felicity Hayes-McCoy explores the consequences for all of us when memories are manipulated or obliterated, intentionally
The Month of Borrowed Dreams
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-02 - Publisher: HarperCollins

“A sparkling, life-affirming novel—sunshine on the page.”—Cathy Kelly “Heartwarming.”—Irish Independent Return to USA Today bestselling author Felicity Hayes-McCoy’s Finfarran Peninsula with this enchanting novel in the vein of Jenny Colgan, Maeve Binchy, and Nancy Thayer—humming with the rhythms of modern rural Irish life—in which librarian Hanna Casey and her family
The Mistletoe Matchmaker
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-08 - Publisher: HarperCollins

“The perfect winter heart-warmer.”—Cathy Kelly, bestselling author of Between Sisters and Secrets of a Happy Marriage Beloved author Felicity Hayes-McCoy returns with an enchanting, cozy new novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Nina George, and Nancy Thayer—It’s Christmas in Ireland, and when Cassie Fitzgerald arrives from Toronto to visit
The Transatlantic Book Club
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-10 - Publisher: HarperCollins

The beloved author of The Mistletoe Matchmaker returns with an enchanting new novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Nina George, and Nancy Thayer, about residents of Ireland's Finfarran Peninsula who set up a Skype book club with the little US town of Resolve, where generations of Finfarran's emigrants have
Summer at the Garden Cafe
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-09-04 - Publisher: HarperCollins

The second in Felicity Hayes-McCoy's Finfarran Peninsula series, and the sequel to The Library at the Edge of the World—a heartwarming story about secrets between four generations of Irish women, and the healing powers of books, love, and friendship. The Garden Café, next to Lissbeg library, is a place where