Consider Her Ways

Originally published in 1947, this is Frederick Philip Grove's last and most unique book.

Consider Her Ways

Originally published in 1947, this is Frederick Philip Grove's last and most unique book. In the tradition of Orwell's 'Animal Farm', Grove examines the idea of a utopian society through the story of a group of travelling ants who find themselves in North America. An amateur scientist encounters the colony and makes telepathic contact with a very special elder of the ant community. In fact, the ant infuses the scientist with her memory and uses her new friend as a medium through which she tells the colony's incredible story, a tale that holds up a mirror to our culture, demonstrating to both worlds the parallels and contrasts between the pastoral ways of the ants and the North American life of excess. This classic Canadian novel is back in print for the first time in 20 years, allowing readers to more completely assess Grove's body of works. Fans of speculative fiction will be delighted to see that his prose is as fresh as it was 50 years ago. This was Grove's last novel, and it stands as a testament both to his writing and his prescience.

More Books:

Consider Her Ways
Language: en
Pages: 216
Authors: Frederick Philip Grove
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001-01-01 - Publisher: Insomniac Press

Originally published in 1947, this is Frederick Philip Grove's last and most unique book. In the tradition of Orwell's 'Animal Farm', Grove examines the idea of a utopian society through the story of a group of travelling ants who find themselves in North America. An amateur scientist encounters the colony
Consider Her Ways
Language: en
Pages: 218
Authors: Frederick Philip Grove
Categories: Ants
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002-02-15 - Publisher: Insomniac Press

Originally published in 1947, this is Frederick Philip Grove's last and most unique book. In the tradition of Orwell's 'Animal Farm', Grove examines the idea of a utopian society through the story of a group of travelling ants who find themselves in North America. An amateur scientist encounters the colony
Consider Her Ways
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: John Wyndham
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-04 - Publisher: Penguin UK

The six stories in Consider Her Ways: And Others, the second collecton of John Wyndham's short tales, continue his exploration of the science fiction staple - what if? In the title story we are introduced to a world where all the men have been killed by a virus and women
Consider Her Ways
Language: en
Pages: 189
Authors: John Wyndham
Categories: Science fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1961 - Publisher:

The future as an Amazonian ant's-nest, a single-sex totalitarian nightmare...the curious consequences of an out-of-body experience...how Hollywood turned an Irish Rose into a plastic bloom...a scientific experiment that changes the course of history - or merely confirms it...the search for a love that is not just lost, but has never
Consider Her Ways & Others
Language: en
Pages: 223
Authors: John Wyndham
Categories: Science fiction, English
Type: BOOK - Published: 1961 - Publisher: Michael Joseph

Books about Consider Her Ways & Others