Dear Mrs Bird

But as Emmy reads the desperate pleas from women who many have Gone Too Far with the wrong man, or can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. “Fans ...

Dear Mrs  Bird

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertently becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls. Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are doing their bit for the war effort and trying to stay cheerful, despite the German planes making their nightly raids. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent, and when she spots a job advertisement in the newspaper she seizes her chance; but after a rather unfortunate misunderstanding, she finds herself typing letters for the formidable Henrietta Bird, renowned advice columnist of Woman’s Friend magazine. Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight into the bin. But as Emmy reads the desperate pleas from women who many have Gone Too Far with the wrong man, or can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. “Fans of Jojo Moyes will enjoy AJ Pearce’s debut, with its plucky female characters and fresh portrait of women’s lives in wartime Britain” (Library Journal)—a love letter to the enduring power of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and the courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times. “Headlined by its winning lead character, who always keeps carrying on, Pearce's novel is a delight” (Publishers Weekly). Irrepressibly funny and enormously moving, Dear Mrs. Bird is “funny and poignant…about the strength of women and the importance of friendship” (Star Tribune, Minneapolis).

More Books:

Dear Mrs. Bird
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: AJ Pearce
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-05-07 - Publisher: Scribner

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertently becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls. Emmeline
Dear Mrs Bird
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: A. J. Pearce
Categories: Advice columnists
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-04-05 - Publisher: Picador

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are trying to stay cheerful despite the Luftwaffe making life thoroughly annoying for everyone. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent and when she spots a job advertisement in the newspaper she seizes her chance - but after a rather
Dear Mrs Bird
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: A. J. Pearce
Categories: Advice columnists
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-17 - Publisher: Picador

The Richard & Judy Book Club Pick and Sunday Times Bestseller now with a beautiful new festive design for the Christmas season. London, 1941. Amid the falling bombs Emmeline Lake dreams of becoming a fearless Lady War Correspondent. Unfortunately, Emmy instead finds herself employed as a typist for the formidable
Dear Mrs Bird
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: AJ Pearce
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-04-05 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Richard & Judy Book Club Pick and Sunday Times Bestseller 'The sweetest, most uplifting, lovely book about courage, friendship, love' – Marian Keyes, author of Grown Ups. London, 1941. Amid the falling bombs Emmeline Lake dreams of becoming a fearless Lady War Correspondent. Unfortunately, Emmy instead finds herself employed
Dear Mrs Bird: Book #1 of The Emmeline Lake Chronicles
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: AJ Pearce
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-04-10 - Publisher: Picador

"The sweetest, most uplifting, lovely book about courage, friendship, love ... It'll be huge; it deserves to be" Marian Keyes, author of The Break London, 1940. Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are trying to stay cheerful despite the Luftwaffe making life thoroughly annoying for everyone. Emmy dreams of