Something New Under the Sun An Environmental History of the Twentieth Century World The Global Century Series

Based on exhaustive research, McNeill's story—a compelling blend of anecdotes, data, and shrewd analysis—never preaches: it is our definitive account. This is a volume in The Global Century Series (general editor, Paul Kennedy).

Something New Under the Sun  An Environmental History of the Twentieth Century World  The Global Century Series

"One of those rare books that’s both sweeping and specific, scholarly and readable…What makes the book stand out is its wealth of historical detail." —Elizabeth Kolbert, The New Yorker The history of the twentieth century is most often told through its world wars, the rise and fall of communism, or its economic upheavals. In his startling book, J. R. McNeill gives us our first general account of what may prove to be the most significant dimension of the twentieth century: its environmental history. To a degree unprecedented in human history, we have refashioned the earth's air, water, and soil, and the biosphere of which we are a part. Based on exhaustive research, McNeill's story—a compelling blend of anecdotes, data, and shrewd analysis—never preaches: it is our definitive account. This is a volume in The Global Century Series (general editor, Paul Kennedy).

More Books:

Something New Under the Sun: An Environmental History of the Twentieth-Century World (The Global Century Series)
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: J. R. McNeill
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001-04-17 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

"One of those rare books that’s both sweeping and specific, scholarly and readable…What makes the book stand out is its wealth of historical detail." —Elizabeth Kolbert, The New Yorker The history of the twentieth century is most often told through its world wars, the rise and fall of communism, or
Something New Under the Sun
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Alexandra Kleeman
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-03 - Publisher: Hogarth

NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE • A novelist discovers the dark side of Hollywood and reckons with ambition, corruption, and connectedness in the age of environmental collapse and ecological awakening—a darkly unsettling near-future novel for readers of Don DeLillo and Ottessa Moshfegh NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE
Something New Under the Sun
Language: en
Pages: 421
Authors: John Robert McNeill
Categories: Human ecology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001 - Publisher:

In the course of the 20th century the human race, without intending anything of the sort, undertook a giant, uncontrolled experiment on the earth. In time, according to John McNeill in his new book, the environmental dimension of 20th century history will overshadow the importance of its world wars, the
Something New Under the Sun
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Helen Gavaghan
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-12-06 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

In this, the first history of artificial satellites and their uses, Helen Gavaghan shows how the idea of putting an object in orbit around the earth changed from science fiction to indispensable technology in the twinkling of an eye. Focusing on three major areas of development - navigational satellites, communications,
Something New Under the Sun: Ancient Wisdom for Contemporary Living
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Helen Gavaghan
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Primedia E-launch LLC

Books about Something New Under the Sun: Ancient Wisdom for Contemporary Living