Superior Women

“You superior women have a real problem for yourselves, don't you. Just any old guy won't do. You wouldn't like him, and even if you did, your strength would scare him, even make him mad. You know, that's actually one reason I had to ...

Superior Women

The timeless coming-of-age novel about five young women who meet at Radcliffe College and together grow to maturity—through intrigues, ambitions, affairs, and marriages—from World War II to the 1980s. Lavinia, Peg, and Cathy seem to have little in common save for their freshman status. None of them could know that their destinies are about to inextricably intertwine. Across four decades, as time and events upend their expectations, these five women discover their sexuality, reveal their secrets, and struggle with independence—sometimes surrendering, sometimes making stunning choices. Now reissued thirty-five years after its original release, Alice Adams’s Superior Women, hailed as “a remarkable compression of time, memory, and sentiment—rather as if Hemingway had been turned loose on Proust” (San Francisco Chronicle), is a richly drawn, uncompromising novel about women’s intimate, interior lives for fans of Mary McCarthy’s The Group and Rona Jaffe’s The Best of Everything.

More Books:

Superior Women
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Alice Adams
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12-03 - Publisher: Scribner

The timeless coming-of-age novel about five young women who meet at Radcliffe College and together grow to maturity—through intrigues, ambitions, affairs, and marriages—from World War II to the 1980s. Lavinia, Peg, and Cathy seem to have little in common save for their freshman status. None of them could know that
Superior Women
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Jennifer C. Edwards
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-11 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Superior Women examines the claims of abbesses of the abbey of Sainte-Croix in medieval Poitiers to authority from the abbey's foundation to its 1520 reform. These women claimed to hold authority over their own community, over dependent chapters of male canons, and over extensive properties in Poitou; male officials such
Women and Men in Love
Language: en
Pages: 184
Authors: Anthony Edward Waine, Luisa Passerini
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher: Berghahn Books

It has often been assumed that Europeans invented and had the exclusive monopoly over courtly and romantic love, commonly considered to be the highest form of relations between men and women. This view was particularly prevalent between 1770 and the mid-twentieth century, but was challenged in the 1960s when romantic
Women and Men in Love
Language: en
Pages: 382
Authors: Luisa Passerini
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012 - Publisher: Berghahn Books

It has often been assumed that Europeans invented and had the exclusive monopoly over courtly and romantic love, commonly considered to be the highest form of relations between men and women. This view was particularly prevalent between 1770 and the mid-twentieth century, but was challenged in the 1960s when romantic
Contemporary American Women Fiction Writers
Language: en
Pages: 407
Authors: Bella Vivante
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

Covers more than sixty women who published significant fiction after 1945, with a brief biography, exposition of major works and themes, survey of critical reception, and references to primary and secondary sources for each.