Promise of the Flame

BOOKS BY SYLVIA ENGDAHL THE HIDDEN FLAME DUOLOGY (FOR ADULTS) Stewards of the Flame Promise of the Flame THE RISING FLAME DUOLOGY (FOR ADULTS) Defender of the Flame Herald of the Flame CHILDREN OF THE STAR TRILOGY (FOR TEENS AND ADULTS) ...

Promise of the Flame

Three hundred people, isolated on a raw new planet in the hope that their psi powers will become the foundation of a culture that can someday shape the future of humankind. If they don't starve first. If they don't lose heart in the face of hardships beyond any they imagined. And if their kids can be reared to believe in the dream and and advance both their technology and their psi powers from one generation to the next. Starship Captain Jesse Sanders hasn't expected to be responsible for the settlement. Peter is the leader, the visionary on whose inspiration they all depend. But Peter has his hands full, not only with maintaining morale but with grueling ordeals of his own. So the job of ensuring the colony's survival falls on Jesse. And in the end, he must stake his life in a desperate attempt to prevent the loss of all they have gained. This is a sequel to "Stewards of the Flame," but it can be read independently. Unlike Engdahl's other earlier novels, it is not a YA book and is not appropriate for middle-school readers.

More Books:

The Chronicles of Count Antonio
Language: en
Pages: 353
Authors: Anthony Hope
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-11-18 - Publisher: Jazzybee Verlag

Mr. Anthony Hope is finding out his enviable position. Do what he will, he has the power to please most people. Whatever be his moods, and whatever the quality of his performance, he is never awkward, and elegance of form in any literary matter popularly interesting is so uncommon that
Acts and Letters of the Apostles
Language: en
Pages: 287
Authors: Richmond A. Lattimore
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-04-21 - Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Richmond Lattimore, one of the most distinguished living translators of Greek, has in this book completed his rendering of the New Testament in fresh and accurate English for the modern reader. The publication of his translation of The Four Gospels and the Revelation in 1979 was hailed by the New
Hawthorne's Redemption
Language: en
Pages: 568
Authors: Gary P. Cranford
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-10-01 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

This book serves to feed human nature with both a religious and literary mood. It may bring the reader a little closer to an understanding of life's complexities, or it may challenge the reader's own philosophical self, as he or she discovers the unraveling of Hawthorne's. The editor of the
The Promise of Amida Buddha
Language: en
Pages: 504
Authors: Gary P. Cranford
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-05-01 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

The Promise of Amida Buddha is the first complete English translation of a seminal collection of writings by the Japanese Pure Land school's founder, Honen-shonin (1133-1212). The so-called Japanese Anthology (Wago Toroku) collects his surviving short writings composed in Japanese, including letters of exhortation and public pronouncements. The vital writings
The Promise
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Benita Brown
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-01-07 - Publisher: Hachette UK

She promised to protect her sister - no matter what the cost... The Promise is a heart-wrenching and powerful story of two young sisters caught up in an underworld of corruption and deceit, from popular saga author Benita Brown. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin. When her