With the End in Mind

In With the End in Mind , she shares beautifully crafted stories from a lifetime of caring for the dying, and makes a compelling case for the therapeutic power of approaching death not with trepidation, but with openness, clarity, and ...

With the End in Mind

For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, a palliative care doctor's breathtaking stories from 30 years spent caring for the dying. Modern medical technology is allowing us to live longer and fuller lives than ever before. And for the most part, that is good news. But with changes in the way we understand medicine come changes in the way we understand death. Once a familiar, peaceful, and gentle -- if sorrowful -- transition, death has come to be something from which we shield our eyes, as we prefer to fight desperately against it rather than accept its inevitability. Dr. Kathryn Mannix has studied and practiced palliative care for thirty years. In With the End in Mind , she shares beautifully crafted stories from a lifetime of caring for the dying, and makes a compelling case for the therapeutic power of approaching death not with trepidation, but with openness, clarity, and understanding. Weaving the details of her own experiences as a caregiver through stories of her patients, their families, and their distinctive lives, Dr. Mannix reacquaints us with the universal, but deeply personal, process of dying. With insightful meditations on life, death, and the space between them, With the End in Mind describes the possibility of meeting death gently, with forethought and preparation, and shows the unexpected beauty, dignity, and profound humanity of life coming to an end.

More Books:

Beginning With the End in Mind
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: John Lane

Books about Beginning With the End in Mind
Start With the End in Mind
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Jamal Sahib
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-23 - Publisher: Jonathan Ball Publishers

Are you happy? Are you fulfilled in your relationships? Are you growing your business? Are you inspired? Are you passionate about your life? Are you passionate about your business? Are you radiating success? Are you making a difference? No? Then business coach, entrepreneur and motivator Jamal Sahib has the antidote.
With the End in Mind
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Kathryn Mannix
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-01-16 - Publisher: Little, Brown Spark

For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, a palliative care doctor's breathtaking stories from 30 years spent caring for the dying. Modern medical technology is allowing us to live longer and fuller lives than ever before. And for the most part, that is good news. But with changes in
Always End with the Beginning in Mind
Language: en
Pages: 296
Authors: Donald F. White
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-27 - Publisher: Made For Success Publishing

The world likes to believe life is a series of endings. Some are good, others bad, but things always end. In the modern age, the movie ends, the television show ends, the book finishes with "The End", and we start to believe life is about endings. Yet life continues, without
The RCIA
Language: en
Pages: 279
Authors: Thomas H. Morris
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 1997 - Publisher: Paulist Press

The revised second edition of the award-winning The RCIA: Transforming the Church incorporates new insights in liturgical catechesis and ritual celebration that have emerged since the original edition. The changed format includes an expanded commentary on each of the periods of the rite, expanded sections, all-new sections, practical guidelines, and